Developmental task is the task expected of every individual in each stage of development.

1. Prenatal period – from conception to birth

     This involves tremendous growth – from a single cell to an organism complete with brain and behavioral capabilities.

2. Infancy -from birth to 2 years

     This is a time of extreme dependence on adults. Many psychological activities are just beginning – language, symbolic thought, sensorimotor coordination and social learning. 

3. Early childhood – 3 to 6 years

     This is the pre-school years. Young children learn to become more self-sufficient and to care for themselves, develop school readiness, skills and spend many hours in play with peers.

4. Middle and late childhood – 6 to 11 years 

     This is the elementary years. The fundamental skills of reading, writing and arithmetic are mastered. The child is exposed to the larger world and its culture. Achievement becomes a more central theme of the child’s world and self-control increased.

5. Adolescence – 12 to 19 years

     Begins with rapid physical changes – dramatic gains in weight and height, changes in body contour and the development of sexual characteristics. Pursuit of independence and identity is prominent. Thought is more logical, abstract and idealistic. More time is spent outside of the family.

6. Early adulthood – from early 20’s through the 30’s

     It is time of establishing personal and economic independence, career development, selecting a mate, learning to live with someone in an intimate way, starting a family.

7. Middle adulthood – 30 to 60 years

     It is a time of expanding personal and social involvement and responsibility, of assisting the next generation in becoming competent and mature individuals and of reaching and maintaining satisfaction in a career.

8. Late adulthood – 60 and above

     It is time for adjustment to decreasing strength and health, life review, retirement and adjustment to new social roles.

Post a Comment